top of page
Nagarmotha Oil

Nagarmotha Oil


  • Description

    Nagarmotha oil is more commonly known as Cypriol. This plant largely grows in Madhya Pradesh, India and is called nagarmotha. The smell of Cypriol oil is woody and earthy. It is a prized ingredient in perfumes that are made in India. Cyperus scariosus grows to about 2 1/2 feet, with a thin stem that is dark green in color. It is a flowering shrub, where the flowers measure 2 to 8 inches in length. The nodes are about thick in diameter and are in an oval rhizome shape. The stem is aromatic and white in color on the inside. The rhizome is what generates the oil and contains alkaloids, sodium, minerals, along with calcium, sodium, and carbonates. It is distilled using steam distillation from the plants roots. This weed is largely found only in India and the oil is quite big in India.


    Common Uses

    Nagarmotha Oils used in fragrances and bases of woodsy or Eastern type of forestry note. In aromatherapy it allows decongestive properties; it is used to treat diarrhoea or problematic digestion. In addition to this, Cyperus Oil is being widely used in pan masala and tobacco products. Oil of nagarmotha is extracted by steam distillation of roots of plant that is utilized in the manufacturing of perfumery compounds, soaps, cosmetics and incense sticks (agarbatti). Cypriol Oil is also used as fixative and in aromatherapy. Smell of nagarmotha oil is woody, earthy and quite lingering. We provide availability of Nagarmotha Oil in different quantities suiting to the preferences of customers. We are named as one of the most illustrious Nutgrass Essential Oil Manufacturers from India. Nagarmotha essential oil is good for anorexia, vomiting, diarrhoea, intestinal bleeding, and dysentery


    The genus name Cyperus is from Cypeiros which was the ancient Greek name for the genus. Rotundus is Latin for round and refers to the tuber. Grown in tropical areas and along roadsides, sandy fields and cultivated ground in such countries as the Bahamas, Java, Samoa, China, Japan, Egypt, Sudan, Turkey, Iran, India, France and Venezuela.

bottom of page